NG9-1-1 Interoperability Oversight Commission



PCA Vendor Selection Report

Forest Guide Vendor Selection Report


NG9-1-1 PKI webinar

The NG9-1-1 Public Key Infrastructure (PKI) and its root certificate, the PSAP Credentialing Agency (PCA), are fundamental building blocks in the NENA i3 Standard for Next Generation 9-1-1 cybersecurity framework. In this session, learn how the PKI works and how it is intended to all for jurisdictions to be interoperable safety, securely and in a standards-conformant manner.

Forest Guide Overview

The Forest Guide is a function in the NENA i3 Standard for Next Generation 9-1-1 which provides for interoperability for location-based routing between disparate systems. This function is adopted from IETF 5582 and incorporated into NG9-1-1. Watch this video to developed a functioning understand of what a Forest Guide does, how it fits into NG9-1-1, what it means operationally at the PSAP and what NIOC’s deployment strategy is for a Forest Guide through 2021.

NIOC Mission and Introduction

This is a reproduction of a NENA Ignite session from September 2020 aht provides a high-level overview of several fundamental components of NG9-1-1 that provide increased security and interoperability: The PSAP Credentialing Authority (PCA), Public Key Infrastructure (PKI), and the Forest Guide. These critical NG9-1-1 components are in the early stages of being put into practice; what they are, how they work, and the governance structure to manage their policies and operations will be explained.

Get in touch with us

Contact us with any inquiries: